New Plan

The only thing constant is constant change. This mantra has been the hallmark of my life. Keeping the status quo doesn’t really occur very often.

So what changed this week…

Well many things are changing this week at the deli. But that’s a story for another time.

This week my boyfriend and I have decided to try a gluten free diet. I have been doing a lot of research on gluten insensitivity with some interesting results.

Gluten sensitivity or gluten intolerance can have the following symptoms (http://glutenfreenetwork.com/faqs/symptoms-treatments/gluten-intolerance-symptoms-how-do-you-know-if-gluten-is-making-you-sick/):

  • Weight loss or weight gain
  • Nutritional deficiencies due to malabsorption e.g. low iron levels
  • Gastro-intestinal problems (bloating, pain, gas, constipation, diarrhea)
  • Fat in the stools (due to poor digestion)
  • Aching joints
  • Depression
  • Eczema
  • Head aches
  • Exhaustion
  • Irritability and behavioural changes
  • Infertility, irregular menstrual cycle and miscarriage
  • Cramps, tingling and numbness
  • Slow infant and child growth
  • Decline in dental health

Over the past year I have noticed a couple of these nagging symptoms. I have had issues with losing weight, had some minor anemia, been gassy, I always seem to be tired, I can be irritable, and I have consistent headaches. Of course, gluten might not be the issue. It could be something entirely different but I figured it’s worth a try. 

The basic premise of a gluten free diet is to avoid the gluten protein that is found in wheat, rye, barley, and oats. Basically, a diet that is gluten free will avoid bread, pasta, beer, and processed foods. There are two issues with processed foods. The first is that many contain flour and other gluten products. The other though is more insidious. Not all processed foods will list gluten related ingredients on the nutrition label because it doesn’t actually have gluten in the recipe. This doesn’t mean that it is gluten free. Many pieces of equipment are cross-contaminated with the gluten protein through the use of flour as an “anti-stick” agent. Additionally, may processing equipment can be used to make multiple products which may have gluten.

So, what are we going to do in order to be gluten free? We’re going the whole food route. Making things from scratch and getting fresh ingredients will make the transition interesting and easier. I know that I will miss bread but I will persevere. Two days in and I’m doing well. My boyfriend commented today that this diet makes it necessary to keep vigilant and attentive to what is being eaten. He is very right. I have been extremely careful to check foods for gluten. I’ll keep vigilant and see how it goes.

About Diabolical Deli

About Me? Well, people are complicated. So here's a quick snippet. I own and run a delicatessen full time. This is not all I do professionally, but it is my main focus currently. Besides the deli, I am currently a notary public, I manage an apartment complex, and I’m studying for my real estate broker’s exam. I also have a full and rich personal life with many passions including art, dance, cooking, and spending time with loved ones. So much to say, but I leave it to the blog. Find out more about me by reading my articles.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to New Plan

  1. LBC says:

    Let me know how it goes! Even if you’re not gluten intolerant, this diet will probably benefit your health in that you’ll avoid simple carbs and cook more, which is generally healthier. Best of luck.

Leave a comment